Farms & Flavors

Where farm to table is a way of life

For centuries, farmers have plied the rocky soils of Upstate New York, carving out a living along the Champlain Valley, where the winters are a little more mild than in the higher peaks of the Adirondack Mountains. The work of those farming forebears continues today, and has resulted in a community-driven approach to working the land that results in hundreds of types of fruit, produce, and meat, along with finished products like beer, wine, honey, and cheese. 

The Lake Champlain Region has become a beacon of community farming, with brewers feeding pigs, farmers feeding brewers, numerous farmers markets, and regular celebrations of the area's agricultural heritage.

Travelers and locals alike can take part in the action by attending one of the many seasonal events or by stopping in at a farm store while on a scenic drive through the valley. The towns, villages, and hamlets of the region are special for their location along the stunning Adirondack coast, nestled within a valley making for a desirable place to farm. Between farmers markets and seasonal festivals, there’s a lot to see, do, and eat in the Lake Champlain Region.

Adirondack Harvest Festival

The Adirondack Harvest Festival, held in September at the Essex County Fairgrounds, is one of the best ways to experience the region's many farms in one place. This annual celebration is where good food, farmers, and educational opportunities come together for a weekend of fun. There's live music, roundtable discussions, and delicious food!

Farmers markets

Farmers markets abound in the Lake Champlain Region. Visit one and you'll surely be impressed by the selection of locally-produced foods and wares.

It's easy to find a market in the region just about any day of the week in the summer. 

Farm-to-table

Many restaurants in the Lake Champlain Region use locally-sourced ingredients, which means you can eat a farm-to-table meal while supporting local farmers, brewers, and restauranteurs. 

The Deer's Head Inn

Dogwood Bread Company

Farmstead Catering

The Hub on the Hill (to-go meals)

DaCy Meadow Farm

Craft beer

Where there is good food, there is good beer. And boy, is there good beer here. Farmers and brewers in the Lake Champlain Region have developed close working relationships, which means you're likely to have local ingredients in everything you eat and drink.

Ledge Hill Brewing Company

Ausable Brewing Company

Agri-alley

Visit Agri-alley in Keeseville on Mace Chasm Road for three farms meeting all of your food needs — Mace Chasm, North Country Creamery and Clover Mead Cafe, and Fledgling Crow — as well as your need for delicious craft beer at Ausable Brewing Company. Mace Chasm Road is located near scenic Ausable Chasm.

The Hub on the Hill

Stop by Hub on the Hill and check out their market stocked with local farmers’ products and handcrafted wares. The Hub on the Hill is the Adirondacks' food hub and is located right next to Essex Farm. Plan a farm tour at Essex Farm to see where many Adirondack farmers get their start. Essex Farm offers a year-round, full-diet CSA. This is no small feat for one farm.

Stories

Check out these stories on the Adirondack small farming movement's impact throughout the region: Farmstead Catering, Dinner at the Deer's Head, Good Food, Good Coffee, and Good Company at the Hub on the Hill, and Touring Adirondack Farms.

 

Tue, 08/11/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 08/11/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 08/12/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 08/12/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 08/13/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 08/13/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 08/14/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 08/14/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 08/14/2020
Location: 
Moriah Chamber of Commerce,Moriah Chamber of Commerce
Sat, 08/15/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 08/15/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 08/16/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 08/16/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Mon, 08/17/2020
Location: 
Online - at home!,Online - at home!
Mon, 08/17/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 08/18/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 08/18/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 08/19/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 08/19/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 08/20/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 08/20/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 08/21/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 08/21/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 08/22/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 08/22/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 08/23/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 08/23/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Mon, 08/24/2020
Location: 
Online - at home!,Online - at home!
Tue, 08/25/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 08/26/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 08/27/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 08/28/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 08/29/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 08/29/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 08/30/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 08/30/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 09/01/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 09/02/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 09/03/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 09/04/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/05/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/05/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/06/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/06/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Mon, 09/07/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 09/08/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 09/09/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 09/10/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 09/11/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 09/11/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/12/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/12/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/13/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 09/15/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 09/16/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 09/17/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 09/18/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/19/2020
Location: 
Essex County Fairgrounds,Essex County Fairgrounds
Sat, 09/19/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/19/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/20/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/20/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 09/22/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 09/23/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 09/24/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 09/25/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/26/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 09/26/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/27/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 09/27/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 09/29/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 09/30/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 10/01/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 10/02/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/03/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/03/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/04/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/04/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 10/06/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 10/07/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 10/08/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 10/09/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/10/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/10/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/11/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/11/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Mon, 10/12/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 10/13/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 10/14/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 10/15/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 10/16/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/17/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/17/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/18/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/18/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 10/20/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 10/21/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 10/22/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 10/23/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/24/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sun, 10/25/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Tue, 10/27/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Wed, 10/28/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Thu, 10/29/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Fri, 10/30/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga
Sat, 10/31/2020
Location: 
Fort Ticonderoga,Fort Ticonderoga